The Big Chop

Hello Naturals!

It seems that I am a posting fool this morning. But I wanted to talk about the BIG CHOP.  Some dread this word and some welcome it.  If you don’t already know, the BIG CHOP or “BC” is when a natural cuts their hair to get rid of permed ends or all of their permed hair.  Some naturals  BC in the beginning and others like myself choose to transition for a while and then do a BC at a later date.  When you BC is up to and the schedule you set for your natural journey. There are some naturals that never BC.

What I would like to talk about in this post is how some of us tend to be very insecure when it comes to the BC.  I think that I am one of those people.  Why? I do not know.  Because I have worn the shorter styles many time before in the past.  My face is one that works with shorter styles, so there would be no issue.  The main reason that I chose to transition with a long grow out is because I did not want to go through the BC and waiting for my hair to grow.  My hair does have a curly texture and when it was short before I struggled with keeping the back and shorter parts straight, when I wanted that Halle Berry; Toni Braxton look.  Other naturals seem to feel less feminine when their hair is shorter.  There is no need to feel this way, because you can make the BC look more feminine with a few accessories.

Here is a pic of Mahogany Curls and her BC.

This is Mahogany Curls for those of you that do not know her, she is awesome!

                                    This is her BC

0

This is her now!

images                              Here is her blog link.http://www.mahoganycurlsonline.com/

This is where time and patience gets you.

Accessories such as statement earrings, cute scarves, headbands, flowers, and much more will help to make you feel more feminine.  Be sure to get great colors that work with your skin tone and highlight your face.  There are a lot of great little shops and stores that have very inexpensive accessories that you can purchase.  You will find as I have that You will become somewhat of an accessory junkie.  Since going natural, although I did not BC I have so many scarfs, earrings, and headbands.  Stores that I like to frequent include my favorite Charming Charlie, who also has a whole are just for young girls.  So, if you and your daughter are naturals this is a great shop to visit where you can shop together. Other stores include Wal-Mart, thrift stores, New York & Company, Target, and many more.  I will say that I am biased and thinking Charming Charlie is the best.  Their store is inexpensive and has everything you could think of in an accessory.

So, don’t dread the BC or think that you cannot do it because you would not look like a woman anymore.  Rock that BC!  Just be sure to accentuate the hair cut with accessories that show your feminine qualities.  Remember that you should purchase cute colors such as pastels, pinks, greens, blues, patterns, and others that accent your skin tone and face.  We are all beautiful and each of us has our own beautiful qualities.  One of them being our natural hair.  So do that BC and show everyone the new you.

Leave a Reply

